top of page

2023 International Conference

July , 2023
Morgantown, West Virginia

Host University:

Planning Committee

Wood Engineering Achievement Award
The Wood Engineering Achievement Award recognizes accomplishments and innovations in the discipline of wood engineering including structures, structural elements, building codes, consensus standards, design procedures and education. 
The Award alternates each year between three categories: Lifetime Achievement, Young Engineer, and Engineering Innovation. The 2022 category is Lifetime Achievement.

To submit a nomination, send a letter of recommendation and the nominee's background to Jennifer Whitlow at

2021 Wood Engineering Achievement Award Winner - Engineering Innovation

Dr. Brian Via

L.J. Markwardt Wood Engineering Award
The L.J. Markwardt Wood Engineering Award is intended to encourage research and promote knowledge of wood in the engineering field as a means of enhancing the efficient utilization of wood. This Award was established in 1969 by L.J. Markwardt, a Charter member of the Society, who was for many years an Assistant Director at the USDA Forest Products Laboratory in Madison, WI in charge of Wood Engineering Research. 
The Award is presented annually to the author or authors of a technical paper published during the two calendar years prior to the award year in either the Forest Products Journal  or Wood and Fiber Science that is judged to be the most outstanding research paper in the field of wood as an engineering material. 

In 2022, wood engineering research papers stressing practice (basic) are eligible for the Award.

To submit a nomination, send a letter of recommendation and the nominee's background to Jennifer Whitlow at
Sigong Zhang headshot.jpg

2021 L.J. Markwardt  Award Winner

Sigong Zhang

"Lateral Load Performance of Panelized Wood I-Joist Floor Systems"

Published in FPJ 70:4

FPS Wood Award
The Forest Products Society’s Wood Award (first and second place) recognizes and honors the most outstanding research in the field of wood and wood products conducted by graduate students. The Wood Award is the most prestigious award in the area of graduate research in wood and wood products. The 1st Wood Award was presented in 1948, and with the exception of the years 1951 and 1952, it has been given annually since its inception.
The graduate student author must have been registered for a full quarter or full semester at any university or college during the prior year. The paper must be in English, limited in length to between 2,000 to 4,000 words, and in a format consistent with that of a submission to a scientific journal. For judging purposes, any reference to the university or institution where research is or was conducted, and any mention of the author's name must be deleted from the title page and the body of the text. 
To submit a nomination, the graduate student's research adviser should send the student's paper and a letter of recommendation to Jennifer Whitlow at
Munkaila Musah headshot.jpg

2021 FPS Wood Award Winner - 1st Place

Dr. Munkaila Musah

David Milsted headshot.jpg

2021 FPS Wood Award Winner - 2nd Place

David Milsted

bottom of page